• Erin Hegarty
    MAY 15, 2023

    Lightfoot out, Johnson to be sworn in as Chicago’s 57th mayor today


    Mayor Lori Lightfoot left City Hall for the final time as leader of Chicago on Friday led by the Shannon Rovers Irish Pipe Band and amid confetti popping into the air. 

    The 56th mayor of Chicago was ushered out by cheers from city staffers, supporters and elected officials including several aldermen. After shaking hands and exiting City Hall out onto LaSalle Street, Lightfoot was whisked away in a vintage convertible from Leak and Sons Funeral Home. 

    Before leaving City Hall for the final time Friday, Lightfoot toured around the city, making stops at developments and in communities she views as representing her accomplishments during her term. Attendees of her emotional and celebratory sendoff packed inside and outside of City Hall at 4:30 p.m. Friday to wish the outgoing mayor well. 

    Before the fanfare of her final City Hall exit, Lightfoot issued 11 executive orders on her final Friday in office, setting up Mayor-elect Brandon Johnson to continue carrying out several initiatives she began during her four-year term. 

    The executive orders Lightfoot issued Friday followed two she issued earlier in the week — one declaring an emergency in response to a surge of migrants arriving in Chicago and another on environmental justice.  

    One of the orders Lightfoot issued on Friday authorizes the city to designate more than $641 million of projected 2022-2023 fund balance to a Pension Advance Fund. Under the order, the fund will be used to cover advance pension payments for 2024, 2025 and 2026. 

    Lightfoot gave her farewell address to the city last week and during a separate news conference the following day answered questions from the news media for the first time since failing to make it to the runoff election Feb. 28.  


    Lightfoot during her final week in office issued two executive orders, one declaring a state of emergency as the city sees a surge in the number of migrants arriving in Chicago and another on environmental justice.  

    Some see Lightfoot’s executive orders during her last week in office as a way to help solidify her legacy and pass the baton to the next administration. 

    Related: As Lightfoot issues executive orders to round out her mayoral term, a look at how the power of executive orders is used 

    Johnson, City Council inauguration  

    Mayor-elect Brandon Johnson will be sworn in as Chicago’s 57th mayor with an inauguration ceremony set to begin at 10:30 a.m. at Credit Union 1 Arena, 525 S. Racine Ave. In addition to Johnson , all 50 aldermen, Clerk Anna Valencia and Treasurer Melissa Conyears-Ervin will also be sworn in on Monday. 

    The oath of office will be administered to the clerk, then aldermen, the treasurer and finally the mayor, according to a meeting agenda posted online. 

    Johnson will give his inaugural address immediately after he is sworn in as mayor. 

    Since the inauguration event is technically a City Council meeting, aldermen will vote to recess Monday’s meeting until May 24 when they will convene at City Hall at 10 a.m. for their first full meeting. 

    Following the inauguration ceremony Monday, Johnson will hold an open house on the fifth floor of City Hall beginning at 2 p.m. The public has been invited to attend both the inauguration and the open house event. 

    Johnson last week announced four key leadership appointments for his incoming administration. 

    Related: Johnson announces senior staff appointees, featuring county employees, CTU staff and private sector professional 

    The 50 aldermen who will be sworn in Monday represent a City Council that is more progressive, younger and more diverse than the outgoing City Council. 

    Related: New City Council includes an apparent record number of women to be sworn in, overall progressive shift 

    Aldermen set to take office for the first time are: Lamont Robinson in the 4th Ward, Desmon Yancy in the 5th Ward, William Hall in the 6th Ward, Peter Chico in the 10th Ward, Julia Ramirez in the 12th Ward, Jeylu Gutierrez in the 14th Ward, Ronnie Mosley in the 21st Ward, Jessie Fuentes in the 26th Ward, Ruth Cruz in the 30th Ward, Bill Conway in the 34th Ward, Bennett Lawson in the 44th Ward, Angela Clay in the 46th Ward and Leni Manaa-Hoppenworth in the 48th Ward. 

    Three of the four aldermen Lightfoot appointed to fill vacant seats in 2022 — Ald. Nicole Lee (11), Ald. Monique Scott (24) and Ald. Timmy Knudsen (43) — will also be sworn in for the first time as elected officials.

Be the first to comment

Or sign in with email

    Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.