• article-image
    A flyer notifies residents of District Council 14 meetings. [Erin Hegarty/The Daily Line]

    Members of the 22 Police District Councils were sworn in for the first time just over one month ago, and a majority of the councils have already held at least one public meeting.  

    District Councils, each with three elected seats, were established under the ordinance (SO2019-4132) approved by the City Council in 2021 that also created the Community Commission for Public Safety and Accountability, the first civilian police oversight body of its kind in Chicago. 

    Related: After delay in establishing police oversight commission, applications set to open before year’s end 

Be the first to comment

Or sign in with email

    Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.